History of Inner Wheel District 308 By Founder President Mrs. Shail Dhingra

It was late Wednesday night in September 1974. I was waiting for my husband's retu rn after the meeting of Board of Directors of the Dehradun Rotary Club.As he entered, to my surprise, he announced that the Rotary Club has decided to sponsor an Inner Wheel Club here. I remember way back in 1974, I was not very familiar with the Inner Wheel movement then.

The Dehradun Inner Wheel club was sponsored by Rotary Club of Dehradun in 1974 during the presidentship of Dr. K.S . Sinha. Itwas a Rotary meeting and they said we need 12 ladies to form an Inner Wheel club. Few ladies were present in the meeting. Dr. Sinha proposed my name for President and Mrs. Malti Jain for the Secretary. Now the hunt began for 10other members and we were able to collect and met in the coming rotary meeting. Details were finalized. The district chairman was Dr. Surender D. Mohan and District Secretary was Mrs. Chaid Bhasin. As far as I remember, we were, Mrs. Kamla Kapoor, Mrs. Neena Verma, Mrs. N. Shamshi, Mrs. x.c. Jain, Dr. Savita Luthra (ISO), Mrs. Savita Chawla, Mrs. Radha Seth, Mrs. Goyal (Treasurer) Mrs. Raj Berry (First Vice President), Mrs. Sudershan (Second Vice President). The list was handed over to Dr. Sinha and I was asked to say a few words. I remember , I had lost my voice, I was shaking all over and I do not know to this date what I spoke.

Our journey now started, and in this journey of Inner wheel, I have seen shy women coming out of their four walls, and blooming, their hidden talents, ambitions getting an outlet through Inner wheel. Our charter came and it was presented to us on 27th September 1976 at gala function at IPE Hall. A galaxy ofPDGs, DG Rtn. R K Berry and many PDC's of our District and other Districts graced the occasion, nearly 250 people were present. The Chief Guest was Sarojani Mahishi, Minister of State for Law Justice and Company Affairs. Mrs. Nagamani Chandra Sekhar was the Association President and she gave us the charter.